Preventive Medicine 2024 has come to a close, and I want to extend my sincerest congratulations and appreciation to each and every one of you. Each day offered inspiration — filled with insightful discussions, innovative ideas and great opportunities for attendees to connect. Hopefully, you returned home safely and are enjoying time with your family as you reflect on this year’s annual conference.

1178.JPGThe final plenary session of PM2024 featured an engaging discussion on Global Leadership in Medicine and Public Health where speakers discussed global health trends and concerns affecting the world’s population. We heard from Professor John Eastwood, Medical Officer of Health at New Zealand National Public Health Service; Dr. Bonnie Henry, Provincial Health Officer in British Columbia, Canada; and Dr. Prasad Kulkarni, Executive Director of Serum Institute of India in a panel discussion moderated by Dr. Joe Woodring, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)’s Associate Director for Science in South Africa. The panelists shared their experiences in caring for their respective populations during the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond and engaged in insightful conversation with the audience.

To close the conference, we recognized the 2024 recipients of the member recognition awards and honored the 2024 class of Fellows. ACPM President, Dr. Mirza Rahman and ACPM Membership Committee Chair, Dr. Prasad Acharya and Vice Chair, Dr. Tina Singh led the awards ceremony. Congratulations to all our members for their efforts to advance the field of preventive medicine.

2024 Class of Fellows:
Prasad Acharya, MD, MPH, MBA, FACPM
Amit Algotar, PhD, MBBS, MPH, FACPM
Mark Beatty, MD, MPH, FACPM
Catherine Brett, MD, MPH, FACPM
Abraham Chukwu, MD, MPH, FACPM
COL. Charles diPierro, MD, PhD, MS, MPH, FACPM
Sucheta Doshi, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FACPM
Michael Jan, MD, PhD, MPH, FACPM
Wilnise Jasmin, MD, MBA, MPH, FACPM
Wendy Lane, MD, MPH, FACPM
Ryan Moran, MD, MPH, FACPM
Margaret Nolan, MD, MS, FACPM
Peter Pendergrass, MD, MPH, FACPM
Carla Picardo, MD, MPH, FACPM
Laura Power, MD, MPH, FACPM
Najibah Rehman, MD, MPH, FACPM
Michelle Robertson, MD, MPH, FACPM
MAJ. Hunter Jackson Smith, MD, MPH, MBE, FACPM

Future Leaders Scholarship Winners
  • Anaelle Lahitte-Crohare, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Jeffrey Goddard, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
  • Jessica Ngo, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Lola Ortiz-Whittingham, University of Pittsburgh
  • Md Marufur Roshid, Hiroshima University Department of Health Sciences
Jacob and Heather Adams Resident Scholarship
  • Michaela Ramirez, MD, Loma Linda University
  • Mallika Sabharwal, MD, Boston Medical Center
  • Cassandra E. Wormack, MD, Associate of ACOG, Loma Linda University
Distinguished Service Award
  • Wendy E. Braund, MD, MPH, MSEd, FACPM
Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award​
  • Ankush K. Bansal, MD, FACP, FACPM, SFHM, DipABLM
William Kane Rising Star Award
  • Jennifer R. Chevinsky, MD, MPH, FACPM, DipABLM
Donald Gemson Resident Award
  • Michael C. Harding, MD
Distinguished Federal Preventive Medicine Medical Officer Award
  • CAPT Sara E. Luckhaupt, MD, MPH, FACPM
Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Michele A. Soltis, MD, MPH, FACPM
ACPM Board of Regents Scientific Excellence Award
  • Dorothy S. Lane, MD, MPH, FACPM
President's Award
  • Robert G. Sharrar, MD, MS
  • Clarence K. Lam, MD, MPH, FACPM
Your passion, dedication, and expertise have been crucial in making this event a success and I thank you for your continued commitment to the field of preventive medicine. Together, we can make a difference, and we look forward to seeing you next year in Seattle, for Preventive Medicine 2025, May 4- 8.
Please continue to share your photos and insights from the conference on social media using the hashtag #PM2024.


Donna Grande, MGA
CEO of the American College of Preventive Medicine
Sponsored By:
Back to news listing