Member Awards

The American College of Preventive Medicine awards program honors members of the College and leaders in the field for excellence in service to preventive medicine and exceptional lifetime achievements.

ACPM takes great pride in recognizing the achievements that advance the recognition and profile of the preventive medicine specialty. The ACPM awards acknowledge the passion of both members and nonmembers in the areas of preventive medicine and public health.

The nomination period for 2023 closed on January 6, 2023.

Awards and Winners

Donald Gemson Resident Award

The Donald Gemson Resident Award honors a resident member of ACPM, in any year of training, for outstanding achievement in community service, scholarship, research, teaching and overall leadership.

Michael Harding, MD currently serves as the Chief Resident for the combined family medicine/preventive medicine residency program at Johns Hopkins University and MedStar Health in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Harding obtained his Bachelor of Science in Public Health from Brigham Young University and his Doctor of Medicine from the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.

His work thus far has focused on improving delivery of primary care, studying community-based interventions for substance use disorders, and addressing health disparities experienced by American Indian/Alaska Native populations. He is a Commissioned Officer in the US Public Health Service and will be starting a new position at the Oklahoma City Indian Clinic this summer.

William Kane Rising Star Award

The William Kane Rising Star Award honors an ACPM member within seven years of the completion of residency training and who is certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine. Recipients possess a strong commitment to preventive medicine and demonstrate the potential to offer significant contributions to the field.

Dr. Jennifer R. Chevinsky is a double-boarded Preventive Medicine and Lifestyle Medicine Physician serving as Deputy Public Health Officer for Riverside County’s Department of Public Health, overseeing the Division of Infectious Disease, Community Health Planning, and Health Equity. She is an Assistant Professor for Loma Linda University’s (LLU) Department of Preventive Medicine and School of Public Health and serves on the American Journal of Preventive Medicine Focus Journal’s Editorial Board as well as the Chair of the American College of Preventive Medicine’s Community and Population Health Conference Track. Prior, she worked for CDC as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer (EISO) within the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion’s Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity.

While at CDC, she participated in multiple deployments for the COVID-19 pandemic and was lead author for the Interim Guidance on Post-COVID conditions. She completed her undergraduate medical education at University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine, internship at Lehigh Valley Health Network, specialty residency training in Preventive Medicine and Master’s degree in Public Health concentrating in Population Medicine at LLU, and Postdoctoral epidemiology training as an EISO at CDC. In Riverside County, Dr. Chevinsky also serves as Medical Advisor for the COVID-19 and MPOX emergency response activities, as TB controller, treating underserved patients with TB throughout the county, and oversees Undergraduate and Graduate Medical Training programs.

Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award

The Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award honors outstanding achievements or contributions to the preventive medicine specialty. Recipients are not required to work in preventive medicine, but must be recognized as important contributors to the specialty.

Ankush K. Bansal, MD, FACP, FACPM, SFHM, DipABLM earned his MD from Creighton University in Omaha, NE and completed his Internal Medicine residency in Wilmington, DE in 2007. After board certification in Internal Medicine, he earned board certification in Lifestyle Medicine in 2017. Dr. Bansal works as a hospitalist, telemedicine physician, and lifestyle medicine. His primary interests in preventive medicine are the prevention of lifestyle-mediated, non-communicable diseases and climate change and health. In the latter role, he was Co-Founder and past Co-Chair of Florida Clinicians for Climate Action.  

He currently serves as Vice President of the Florida Chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility and as national board member of PSR. He also serves as Chair of the Workgroup on Environment for the World Medical Association in which he has served as Co-Chair of the WMA delegation to COP 27 and COP 28. He serves as Vice Chair of the Advocacy Committee for ACPM, member of ACPM’s Vaccine Confident Program since the pandemic, Governor and incoming President of the Florida Chapter of the American College of Physicians, and Parliamentarian Select of the ACP Board of Governors. Dr. Bansal is in the Voluntary Clinical Faculty at Florida International University in Miami, FL.  

Distinguished Federal Service Award

The Distinguished Federal Service Award recognizes a Fellow or member for outstanding service to the American College of Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Sara Luckhaupt is the Associate Director for Science of the Division of Field Studies and Engineering at the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and a Captain in the US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps (PHS CC)She received a Medical Degree from the Ohio State University, completed a preventive medicine residency at the University of Michigan, and is a Fellow of the American College of Preventive Medicine. She joined CDC/NIOSH and the PHS CC as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer in 2006.

She has worked on many national and international projects, including occupational health supplements to the National Health Interview Survey in 2010, 2015, and 2021. She has authored >50 peer-reviewed journal articles and presented at many national and international conferences. She has also deployed in support of numerous public health emergencies, including the 2014-2015 Ebola epidemic in West Africa, the 2016-2017 Zika response in Puerto Rico, Hurricanes Harvey and Maria in 2017, and the CDC COVID-19 response in 2020-2021.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a Fellow or member for outstanding service to the American College of Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Braund has served the College in a number of roles, including as the Chair of the ACPM Education Committee, Secretary of the ACPM Board of Regents, ACPM’s Delegate and Alternate Delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates and currently, she is serving as President of the American Board of Preventive Medicine.

While leading the Education Committee, Dr. Braund participated in the site visit for reaccreditation with the ACCME, assisting staff in the preparation as well as reading and reviewing the annual report and the materials selected by the ACCME Committee.

As Secretary on the Board, she engaged in many efforts as the Bylaws were revised, updated and modified as well as many of the requisite needs related to the transition from the former Executive Director to the new CEO joining the organization. As Delegate and Alternate-Delegate to the AMA House of Delegates, she advanced commentary and positions on several policies and while serving as the Chair of the Section Council on Preventive Medicine, she shepherded the passage of the ACPM prediabetes resolution to successful adoption by the AMA.

See previous winners