Select physicians were recognized for their commitment to public health and preventive medicine within their local communities and across the nation at annual Preventive Medicine Conference.


WASHINGTON D.C., April 22, 2024 – On the final day of Preventive Medicine 2024 (PM2024), the American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) announced the winners of its Scientific Excellence Awards for physician member-led, evidence-based research, along with ACPM award recipients for their recognition and service. ACPM President Mirza Rahman, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FACPM, presented the awards during a ceremony at the annual meeting, which brings together leading public health and preventive medicine experts from across the country. 

Nine members at PM2024 were honored for their role and efforts in advancing the field of preventive medicine and paving the way in health for current and aspiring preventive medicine physicians. The 2024 ACPM award winners are: 

  • President's Award: 
    • Robert G. Sharrar, MD, MS
    • Clarence K. Lam, MD, MPH, FACPM
  • Distinguished Service Award: Wendy E. Braund, MD, MPH, MSEd, FACPM
  • Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award: Ankush K. Bansal, MD, FACP, FACPM, SFHM, DipABLM
  • William Kane Rising Star Award: Jennifer R. Chevinsky, MD, MPH, FACPM DipABLM
  • Donald Gemson Resident Award: Michael C. Harding, MD
  • Distinguished Federal Preventive Medicine Medical Officer Award: CAPT Sara E. Luckhaupt, MD, MPH, FACPM
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: COL Michele A. Soltis, MD, MPH, FACPM
  • ACPM Board of Regents Scientific Excellence Award: Dorothy S. Lane, MD, MPH, FACPM

The Scientific Excellence Awards are designed to recognize and reward the outstanding research of medical and scientific professionals in preventive medicine. During the conference, nearly 150 presenters showcased their latest research and shared best practices in preventive medicine during poster presentations at PM2024, and a panel consisting of members of the ACPM Board of Regents selected the top three honorees:  

  1. FIRST PLACE – Catherine Brett, MD, MPH, FACPM; Risk Factors for Severe Maternal Morbidity Among Mississippi Medicaid Enrollees 
  2. SECOND PLACE – Melissa Wardle, MPH, PhD(c); Hepatitis C treatment initiation and timeliness among Oregon’s insured population, 2016-2021 
  3. THIRD PLACE – Edward Anslem, MD; Unleashing Lost Opportunity in Tobacco Cessation Care: How Ignoring Medical Billing Affects Revenue Potential 

“We are thrilled to announce our 2024 Scientific Excellence Award winners and ACPM award winners at this year’s conference. These awards honor those who show the commitment to improving our country’s healthcare system through their incredible work and research in prevention,” said Rahman. “Thank you, and congratulations to our winners and to all who participated in the presentations these past three days. The research showcased by preventive medicine physicians over the past few days signifies notable progress that will positively impact the health and welfare of diverse populations all across this great country." 

PM2024 featured dozens of sessions and presentations focusing on challenging healthcare topics – from improving the health and well-being of all populations, to the importance of cancer screenings, military health, approach to HIV/AIDS treatment and prevention and beyond. For more information about PM2024, visit ACPM online, here, and follow the conversation on social media using #PM2024. 

Next year, ACPM’s conference, PM2025, is in Seattle, May 4-8. 


About ACPM 

The American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) is a professional medical society of approximately 2,000 physicians dedicated to improving the health and quality of life of individuals, families, communities and populations through disease prevention and health promotion. 

For more information, visit

Back to news listing