MOC (Maintenance of Certification) is the board certification process for assessment of continuing competencies of physicians. The MOC program for preventive medicine physicians is managed by the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM) and continues to evolve to meet requirements set by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). The process evaluates physicians on professionalism and professional standing, lifelong learning assesments, assments of knowledge, judgement and skills and improvement in their medical practice.

ACPM provides tools and resources to help diplomates meet the requirements of the MOC process.

MOC Components

Part 1: Professionalism and Professional Standing

Hold an active, valid and unrestricted medical license in each of the U.S. states, U.S. territories or Canadian provinces in which you practice medicine.

Part 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLSA)

Complete continuing medical education and self-assessment activities in areas related to your practice. These include ABPM-approved LLSA courses — such as courses provided by ACPM (be sure to confirm that each is ABPM-approved) — and courses that meet the ABPM patient safety requirement.

Part 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment and Skills

Pass a cognitive exam during each certification cycle. The newly formatted electronic exam will contain similar content to the initial certification exam.

Part 4: Improvement in Medical Practice

Complete two Improvement in Medical Practice (IMP) activities.

At least one activity per cycle must be considered a ‘primary’ IMP activity approved by ABPM and specific to one of the preventive medicine specialties or subspecialties (coordinated respectively by ACPM, ACOEM, AsMA, ASAMS, ACAAM, AMIA, ABEM, and UHMS).

Up to one ‘secondary’ activity may be accepted for credit per cycle. This includes activities completed for another ABMS member board’s MOC Part 4 requirements (deemed ‘reciprical cedit’) or activities completed through the ABMS Multispecialty Portfolio Program.

Assessment Process

This 7-step component of the MOC program applies to those diplomates whose certificate expired in 2010 or later. It utilizes a quality improvement model with opportunities for assessment of practice performance and improvement activities available in clinical practice, teaching, research and administration.

After enrolling, individuals will download the Diplomate Practice Assessment Plan and accompanying instructions. An official copy of the diplomate’s assessment plan, required assessment tools, and other requirements listed in the instructions are then submitted to ACPM for review.

The assessment plan and instructions will walk you through the MOC Part 4 process. Steps include:

  1. Select the appropriate tool
  2. Prepare for the evaluation
  3. Complete the evaluation
  4. Identify area(s) for improvement
  5. Develop/implement quality improvement plan
  6. Measure improvement
  7. Document process on the Diplomate Practice Improvement Plan

MOC Tools

Contact for more information.

Enroll Now