ABOUT   |   CONTACT   |   Sign In
New Preventive Medicine Residency Sustainability Task Force

ACPM's Board recently convened a Preventive Medicine Residency Sustainability Task Force to study the issues and barriers preventive medicine residency programs face regarding funding. At the direction of the ACPM Board of Regents, ACPM President Dr. Bob Carr created the task force to assess the current situation of financing for preventive medicine training, identify the desired state, and make recommendations for innovative solutions for moving the specialty to a more sustainable future.

Although ACPM is continuing all previous efforts on funding, including advocating for HRSA appropriations in the federal budget, the task force is looking at the issue from existing and new angles. The task force and Board are considering potential new models for training, potential new funding streams for residency programs, new rotations, and new partnerships. The following ACPM members make up the task force:


Dr. Eric Kasowski, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Dr. Lili Buzsaki, ACPM Resident Physician Section, University of Kentucky
Dr. Peter Capone-Newton, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Dr. Bob Carr, President of ACPM, Georgetown University School of Medicine
Dr. Wayne Dysinger, Loma Linda University
Dr. Erica Frank, University of British Columbia
Dr. Liz Garland, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Dr. Linda Hill, University of California – San Diego
Dr. Clarence Lam, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Dr. Carolyn Murray, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Dr. Deborah Porterfield, University of North Carolina
Dr. Sanjeev Sirpal, ACPM Resident Physician Section, l’Université de Montréal, Canada
Dr. Jim Tacci, University of Rochester Medical Center


Kate McFadyen

For more information, contact task force staff liaison Kate McFadyen.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal