ABOUT   |   CONTACT   |   Sign In
Immediate Past President: Blumenthal
Share |
Daniel Blumenthal, MD, MPH, FACPM

Dr. Blumenthal is a graduate of Oberlin College and the University of Chicago School of Medicine. He completed his residency in pediatrics at Charity Hospital of New Orleans (Tulane Division) and received his master of public health degree from Emory University. He is board-certified in both pediatrics and preventive medicine.

He served as a VISTA Volunteer physician in Lee County, Arkansas; as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer with the Centers for Disease Control in Atlanta; as a medical epidemiologist with the World Health Organization Smallpox Eradication Program in India and Somalia; and on the faculty of the Emory University School of Medicine. He joined the faculty of the Morehouse School of Medicine in 1980, where he served as Founding Chair of the Department of Community Health and Preventive Medicine from 1984--2009. He served as Associate Dean for Community Health until his retirement in July, 2014. He is the author or co-author of approximately 100 peer-reviewed journal articles, commentaries, reviews, and book chapters, and the editor or co-editor of four books.

He has served as President of the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine, as a Regent of the American College of Preventive Medicine, as a member of the Governing Council of the American Public Health Association, as Fulton County (Atlanta) Health Officer, and as a Robert Petersdorf Scholar-in-Residence at the Association of American Medical Colleges. He is Immediate Past President of the American College of Preventive Medicine.

He is a recipient of the Georgia Public Health Association’s Sellers-McCroan Award "for outstanding achievement and service to Georgia in public health." He was named the Outstanding VISTA Volunteer of the 1960s. He received a "Shining Light" Award from the Georgia Association for Primary Health Care, the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award from Morehouse School of Medicine, and the Duncan Clark Award from the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research, the association’s highest award.


ACPM Board of Regents

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal