Maintenance of Certification Program
Share |

 Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Program 

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is the American Board of Medical Specialties' (ABMS) board certification process for assessment of continuing competencies of physicians and encompasses recertification. All Member Boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties must provide MOC programs for their diplomates.

For American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM) diplomates with ten-year, time-limited certificates (those initially certified in 1998 or later) completion of the MOC program is required to maintain a valid certificate.




Part I: Professional Standing

  • Hold an active, valid and unrestricted medical license in all States, US territories, or Canadian Provinces in which you are licensed to practice medicine.


Part II: Lifelong Learning & Self-assessment (LLSA)

  •  Part 2B: Earn an additional 150 Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits. If you have completed MOC Part 2 for another ABMS member board within the timeframe of your current ABMS certificate, you may be able to apply up to 150 CME credits towards ABPM MOC Part 2B requirements. More information is available at

  • Complete a patient safety activity in the first two years of your certification cycle. Further information is posted at (Diplomates who have been certified by ABPM through the Residency Pathway do not need to complete an additional patient safety course during their first ten-year certification cycle if they completed residency training in 2012 and later.)


Part III: Cognitive exam

  • Take the cognitive exam in the last three years of your certification cycle. You may re-take the test if necessary to pass it prior to the expiration of your certificate.

Please contact ABPM for questions about the exam at (312) 939-2276

Part IV: Practice Performance Assessment


  • Complete two practice assessment and improvement activities during each ten-year certification cycle. One assessment is to be completed in the first five years of the cycle and a second in the last five years.

(For those diplomates maintaining certification with another ABMS specialty board or a Canadian specialty board, Part 4 requirements may be satisfied by completing the MOC requirements of that specialty board. Further information can be found on the ABPM website at

Click Here to learn more about ACPM's MOC Part IV program, view sample documents and enroll.



For questions about ACPM's MOC Part IV program, please contact our Director, Continuing Education, Haydee Barno, MBA, CMP-HC.


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal